Marine Mammal Strandings Regional Contacts

Below are several regional contacts in the Alaska marine mammal stranding network. Regional contacts are the ultimate first responders—try these local contacts first, then contact one of the main stranding numbers.

View this in Google maps

Ketchikan

Gary Freitag, Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Agent
gary.freitag@alaska.edu
907-228-4551

Petersburg

Sunny Rice, Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Agent
sunny.rice@alaska.edu
907-772-3381

Kodiak

Kate Wynne, Alaska Sea Grant Marine Mammal Specialist, Kodiak
Kate.wynne@alaska.edu
907-486-1517

Aleutian Islands/Unalaska

Melissa Good, Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Agent, Unalaska
melissa.good@alaska.edu
907-581-1876 or 907-299-3296

Northern Bristol Bay

Helen Aderman, Bristol Bay Native Association, Marine Mammal Program Manager
haderman@bbna.com
907-842-6240

Lauri Jemison, Alaska Department of Fish and Game, Division of Wildlife Conservation
lauri.jemison@alaska.edu
907-842-2334

Neil Barten, Alaska Department of Fish and Game, Division of Wildlife Conservation, Area Biologist
neil.barten@alaska.gov
907-842-2334

Bering Strait

Gay Sheffield, Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Agent, Nome
gay.sheffield@alaska.edu
1-855-443-2397 or 907-434-1149

Eskimo Walrus Commission
1-877-277-4392

Kawerak Subsistence Resources
subsistence@kawerak.org
907-443-4265

North Slope

North Slope Borough Department of Wildlife Management
907-852-0350 (days)
907-750-5486 (evenings/weekends)