NOSB 2011 Competition Results

Overall standings

Research project plus quiz bowl

Absolute Vorticity champs

First Place

Bold and asterisk denotes team MVP. First- and second-place teams are awarded tuition waivers to their choice of either UAF or UAS. The first-place team's expenses will be paid to travel to Galveston, Texas, April 29–May 1, 2011, to compete in the NOSB final competition.

Juneau-Douglas High School Absolute Vorticity (95.4 points)

Tyler Houseweart, team captain
Seth Brickey*
Elise Christey
Sam Kurland
Martina Miller

Coach: Ben Carney

Second Place

Mat-Su Career & Technical High School Tiger Sharks (86.6 points)

Jonah Jeffries*, team captain
Alonzo Gage
Chris Erickson
Aspen Melton
Shayla Jordan

Coach: Tim Lundt

Third Place

Cordova High School – Prince William Sound Science Center Auto-Eviscerators (84.5 points)

Craig Bailer*, team captain
Keegan Irving
Christina Morrisett
Sophia Myers
Jessica Smyke

Coach: Alice Dou-Wang

Individual components

Research Project

Paper and oral presentation combined. The coach of the first-place research project team is awarded a $500 grant to purchase classroom resources, sponsored by Alaska Sea Grant.

Research Paper

Research papers are posted online.

Oral Presentation

Knowledge Quiz

First-place team is awarded $500 for classroom resources sponsored by Ocean Alaska Science & Learning Center.

Mayor of Seward Perpetual Trophy

Awarded to the team with the most points scored in a single round. This team receives a perpetual trophy to display in their school until the next Tsunami Bowl competition.

Sportsmanship award

Voted on by the quiz bowl judges.

Most Valuable Players

Selected from each team by coaches and/or team members. Each recipient was awarded a matted fish print, a NOSB duffel bag, and a book from Alaska Sea Grant. See overall first through third places above and 2011 Teams page for recipients. MVP members are denoted by bold and asterisk above, and are bolded on teams page.

Red Lantern Classroom Enhancement Award

Awarded to the teacher of the team that completes both the research and quiz portions of the Tsunami Bowl and finishes in last place; $1000 for classroom resources. This award is sponsored by the Ocean Alaska Science & Learning Center.

2011 NOSB Ocean Connection Art Show

best-of-show painting

The art teacher for the Best of Show artwork is awarded a $500 grant for classroom resources, sponsored by Alaska Sea Grant.

How the NOSB Competition Works

Want In on the Action?

November 15 is the deadline to indicate the intent to participate in each year's Alaska Regional NOSB. Contact science bowl coordinator Phyllis Shoemaker at the University of Alaska Fairbanks Seward Marine Center to find out how your high school can join in the fun, or check out our web pages for coaches and teams. The number of teams is limited, so act early for the best chance of participating in the next National Ocean Sciences Bowl.

PO Box 730, Seward, AK 99664
Phone: 907-224-4312, Fax: 907-224-3392