NOSB 2008 Competition Results

First Place

Bold and asterisk denotes team MVP.

Students get their choice of a $2000 scholarship to UAF or UAS and a free trip to the NOSB final competition in April, held in Seward, Alaska. The coach gets a one-year membership in the National Marine Educators Association and a scholarship to the educator's Marine Science Camp at Kasitsna Bay.

Juneau-Douglas High School Naughty Nautilli
      Molly Emerson
      Stephen Kubota
      Ross Douglas
      Kayla Harrison*
      Trentyn Days
      Coach: Ben Carney

Second Place

Students get their choice of a $2000 scholarship to UAF or UAS.

Juneau-Douglas High School Megatron
      Thomas Sorensen
      Shadoe Haffner
      Thomas Mills
      Phil Moser*
      Jaime Burrous
      Coach: Ben Carney

Third Place

Cordova High School – PWSSC Visceral Mass
      Drew Lindow
      Grafton Schikora
      Trae Lohse
      Ian Americus*
      Coach: Lindsay Butters

Fourth Place

Skyview High School Odd Pisces
      Amanda Millay*
      Mallory Millay
      Scott Begins
      Tasha Brown
      Coach: Mark Larson

Fifth Place

White Mountain Polar Bears
      DeAnne Lincoln
      Roberta Charles
      Michelle Simon
      Crystal Lincoln
      Katya Wassillie*
      Coach: Jack Adams

Please see 2008 Teams page for team members, MVPs and coaches for 6th through 15th place.

Sixth Place

Mat-Su Career & Technical High School Jackie's A.I.D.S.

Seventh Place

South Anchorage High School Team Starfish

Eighth Place

Soldotna High School The Krakens

Ninth Place

Skyview High School Team #2

Tenth Place

Seward High School & Kenny Lake School Team Charybdis

Eleventh Place

Cordova High School – PWSSC Santos del Océano

Twelfth Place

South Anchorage High School Team Sea Urchin

Thirteenth Place

Unalaska City School Tentacular Nematocysts

Fourteenth Place

Kenny Lake School Sea Geeks

Fifteenth Place

Unalaska City School Peanut Worms and Jellyfish Sandwiches

Mayor of Seward Perpetual Trophy

Awarded to the team with the most points scored in a single round.

Juneau-Douglas High School Megatron with 110 points in round 1.

Sportsmanship award

Each team member received a framed set of the International Polar Year Commemorative Stamps which depict the Aurora Borealis and the Aurora Australis.

Kenny Lake School Sea Geeks

Most Valuable Players

Each recipient was awarded a $50 scholarship and a certificate. See above or 2008 Teams page for recipients.

Educational Enhancement Award

Awarded to the winner of the Consolation bracket (9th place); $1500 to be spent on books and equipment to improve ocean science learning in the recipient school. This award is sponsored by the Ocean Alaska Science and Learning Center, a partnership between the National Park Service and the Alaska SeaLife Center, dedicated to understanding and preserving Alaska's marine ecosystem.

Skyview High School Team #2

2008 NOSB Ocean Connection Art Show

How the NOSB Competition Works

Want In on the Action?

November 15 is the deadline to indicate the intent to participate in each year's Alaska Regional NOSB. Contact science bowl coordinator Phyllis Shoemaker at the University of Alaska Fairbanks Seward Marine Center to find out how your high school can join in the fun, or check out our web pages for coaches and teams. The number of teams is limited, so act early for the best chance of participating in the next National Ocean Sciences Bowl.

PO Box 730, Seward, AK 99664
Phone: 907-224-4312, Fax: 907-224-3392