NOSB 2007 Competition Results

First Place

Students were awarded one-year tuition waivers from the University of Alaska Fairbanks and a trip to Stony Brook, New York, April 28–30, to compete in the national finals.

Juneau-Douglas High School Team 585
      Drake Skaggs
      Hillary Buck
      Eva Ceder
      Deidre Ratigan
      Coach: Ben Carney

Second Place

Students were awarded one-year tuition waivers from the University of Alaska Southeast.

Juneau-Douglas High School Ice Pirates
      Ben Grammel
      Henry Melville
      Thomas Sorensen
      Marciano Duran
      Molly Trostel
      Coach: Ben Carney

Third Place

Third and fourth place had a tie, which was broken by looking at which team won when they played each other.

Juneau-Douglas High School Aquarius
      Levvi Benning
      Erin Oelklaus
      Travis Monagle
      Jaime Burrous
      Colton Good
      Coach: Ben Carney

Fourth Place

Tenakee Springs and Gustavus Gutty Bloody Bait Scrapers
      Elizabeth Barry
      Ian Brooker
      Kelsey Kennedy
      Rebecca Wilson
      Logan Brooker
      Coach: Megs Testarmata

Fifth Place

Skyview High School

Sixth Place

Cordova High School – PWSSC Ugly Fish

Seventh Place

Unalaska City School Ocean Raiders

Eighth Place

Kenny Lake School King Trident, Goddess Tethys and the Little Mermaids

Ninth Place

Kenny Lake School Team BAHA

Mayor of Seward Perpetual Trophy

Awarded to the team with the most points scored in a single round.

Unalaska City School Ocean Raiders with 96 points in round 7.

Sportsmanship award

Each team member received an Alaska Sea Grant book bag and a box of sea animal chocolates.

Tenakee Springs and Gustavus Gutty Bloody Bait Scrapers

Most Valuable Players

Each recipient was awarded a $50 scholarship and a giant chocolate chip cookie.

Red Lantern Educational Enhancement Award

Awarded to overall last-place team; $1500 to be spent on books and equipment to improve ocean science learning in the recipient school. This award is sponsored by the Ocean Alaska Science and Learning Center, a partnership between the National Park Service and the Alaska SeaLife Center, dedicated to understanding and preserving Alaska's marine ecosystem.

Kenny Lake School, coach Mark Proch

Perfect Attendance Award

A special "Perfect Attendance" award of a fleece jacket embroidered with the NOSB logo was given to Skyview coach Mark Larson, who has coached a team in all 10 Tsunami Bowls.

2007 NOSB Ocean Connection Art Show

Results will eventually include links to photos of artwork.

How the NOSB Competition Works

Want In on the Action?

November 15 is the deadline to indicate the intent to participate in each year's Alaska Regional NOSB. Contact science bowl coordinator Phyllis Shoemaker at the University of Alaska Fairbanks Seward Marine Center to find out how your high school can join in the fun, or check out our web pages for coaches and teams. The number of teams is limited, so act early for the best chance of participating in the next National Ocean Sciences Bowl.

PO Box 730, Seward, AK 99664
Phone: 907-224-4312, Fax: 907-224-3392