The following high schools participated in the 2004 Alaska Region National Ocean Sciences Bowl

The Alaska regional competition was held in Seward on 20-22 February 2004. Asterisks (*) denote returning coaches and students. Multiple asterisks signify multiple years' participation. Names in bold were chosen by their teammates and coaches as the most valuable members of their teams.

Follow the team links below to see each team's photo page.

Team Tununak Coasters
Paul T. Albert Memorial School, Tununak
Donovan Anderson
Carl Inakak
Gabe Kanrilak
Miriam Ohman
Elgin Sunny
Michael Keefe, coach

Project: Rural Living and Subsistence Lifestyles and How They Impact Each Other

The Amazing Shrinking Team
Bartlett High School, Anchorage
Emily Adams
Savanna Cooper-Hughes
Brittany Huff
John Hill
Chris Pineiro
Leesa Wingo, coach

Project: Ship Creek Crackdown

Team Sushi
Bethel Alternative Boarding School
Whitney Fox
Kristy Nanalook
Leanna Isaac
Thomas Angaiak
Tony Avalos
Shelby Harding
Tad Lindley, coach

Project: Effect of Housing on Dissolved Oxygen in Bethel, Alaska, Lakes

Team Pirates of the Sound
Cordova High SchoolPrince William Sound Science Center
Leif Stavig
Lee Collins
Christopher Hager
Mckenzie Herring
Kate Alexander, coach

Project: Effects of Hydrocarbons on Pacific Herring in Prince William Sound

Team Amaguq
Davis-Ramoth Memorial School, Selawik
Megan Jones*
Cynthia McCoy*
Chris Proch
Colin Davis
Nancy Myers
Mark Proch, coach

Project: Effects of Open Landfills on an Arctic Community

Team Mola Mola
Homer High School
Monica Peters*
Kirsten Baltz*
Joleena Baugh*
Benay Breyfogle
Scott Pegau, coach*
Elizabeth Wasserman, assistant coach

Project: Threat of European Green Crab Invasion in Kachemak Bay

Team Midas
Juneau-Douglas High School
Ben Robinson*
Alida Bus
Bryan Diebels
Ephraim Froehlich
Robyn Grayson*
Clay Good, coach*****

Project: Tailings Disposal Options for the Kensington Mine at Berners Bay near Juneau, Alaska

Team Steller
Juneau-Douglas High School
Ashley Kelly
Bekah Menze
Donna Shelton
Jenifer Stevensen
Kerri Powers
Clay Good, coach*****

Project: "Persistent Organic Pollutants in Alaska"

Team Coelacanth
Ninilchik School
Katie Rea
Jennifer Bartolowits
Madison Moe
John Chihuly
Chris Hanson, coach**

Project: Spruce Bark Beetles

Team Apex Predators
seeUonline/Valley Pathways
Drew Allison*
Collin Dowling*
Lucas Kovtynovich*
Ginger Moreland*
Joanne Pelletier*
Heather Pelletier, coach*
Carol Drake, assistant coach

Project: Up the Creek Without a Paddle: Home Septic Systems in the Matanuska-Susitna Borough

Team Big Ping
Seward High School
Josh Crane
Jenny Sela
Peter Finn
Jason Fantz, coach***

Project: "Is Sonar Killing Whales?"

[Note: Team did not attend competition in Seward.]

Team Nuclear Warheads
Seward High School
Anna Clock
Phelan Miller
Cecile Formosa
Jolie Glaser*
Teal Hetrick
Jonathan Wilkie
Tyler Crista
Cody Kelsoe
Jason Fantz, coach***

Project: "Radioactive Leakage on Amchitka"

Skyview High School, Soldotna
Rachel Beatty*
Andy Boesch
Stevie Pyfer*
Jaime Miller*
Mark Larson, coach******

Project: The Contamination of the Kenai Peninsula Coastal Community: The Impact of Humanity on a Clean Ecosystem

Team POPCAN [Persistent Organic Pollutants Consumed by Alaska Natives]
Soldotna High School
Sierra Williams*
Jon Buchholz*
Krystin Habighorst
Will Newberry
Bruce Rife, coach**

Project: Persistent Organic Pollutants in Alaskan Consumers

Team Tributyltin
Soldotna High School
Heather Roach
Brandy King
Sheila Oelrich
Kelly King
Tina Powers
Bruce Rife, coach**

Project: The Effects of Tributyltin on the Marine Environment

Please notify Susan Sugai at or (907) 474-6840 with any additions, changes or corrections.

Information for participants || NOSB home page
This page is HTML 4.01 validated. Last updated 21-Feb-2005. Contact: ASG web coordinator.
NOSB home page