The following high schools participated in the 2003 Alaska Region National Ocean Sciences Bowl

The Alaska regional competition was held in Seward on 21-23 February 2003. Asterisks (*) denote returning coaches and students. Multiple asterisks signify multiple years' participation. Names in bold were chosen by their teammates and coaches as the most valuable members of their teams.

Follow the team links below to see each team's photo page.

Team Pissurtet [the hunters]
Bethel Alternative Boarding School
Steven Evon (Kwethluk)
Taylor Ramirez (Goodnews Bay)
William McCarr
Winifred Nick (Pilot Station)
Kyle Mortenson
Sonya Weston, alternate
    (Mekoryuk, Nunivak Island)
Daniel Cooley, coach
Carrie Longpre and Joe McIntyre, assistant coaches

(quiz only; no project)

Team Mad Mad Mad Mollusks
Chugiak High School, Eagle River
Jan Tomsen**
Andrew Mew*
Caroline Schultz*
Steven Wilson*
Kelsey Alexander (alternate)
Andy Sullivan, coach*****

Project: "The Development of the Alaskan Ginseng Industry in Hyder, Alaska"

Team Dimond Ditzes
Dimond High School, Anchorage
Stephanie Lamb
Alisha Kiehn*
Sarah Oates*
Ariel Larson*
Matt Anctil
Elizabeth Larman, coach*****

Project: "The South Coastal Trail Controversy"

Team Homer Ooze
Homer High School
Monica Peters
Nat Seaman
Joleena Baugh
Kirsten Baltz
Scott Pegau, coach

Project: "Seawall Construction in Homer, Alaska"

Team Avalanche
Juneau-Douglas High School
Neil Steininger
Stefan Ashe
Phil Morin
Lou Taylor
Colleen Windom
Clay Good, coach****
Claire Fordyce, assistant coach

Project: "Connecting the Southeastern Alaska Communities of the Northern Lynn Canal"

Team Aquarius
Juneau-Douglas High School
Robyn Grayson
Heather Harris
Kira Laliberte
Elizabeth Meiners
Benjamin Robinson
Clay Good, coach****
Claire Fordyce, assistant coach

Project: "Effects of Cruise Ships on Southeast Alaska Environment and Economy"

Team Tempest
Juneau-Douglas High School
Holly Rhoden
Colin Conerton
Chris Frank
Natalie Hale
Josh Finley
Clay Good, coach****
Claire Fordyce, assistant coach

Project: "Juneau International Airport: Safety Concerns and Estuarine Habitat Values"

Team Perspicacious Pinnipeds
Kodiak High School
Devin Boyer*
John Van Atta*
Matt Reppond
Andrea Cooney
Justin Leedy
[all five were voted most valuable]
Craig Baker, coach*

Project: "At All Costs: The Effort to Protect Steller Sea Lions and Its Possible Outcomes for the Salmon Industry and Kodiak's Economy"

Team Benthic Babes
Kotzebue High School
Sarita Shuster
Merella Shuster*
Chisana Hildreth*
Julia Dakai*
Sandra Sumrall-Lloyd, coach*
Robbie Everett and Brenda Dakai, assistant coaches

Project: "The Long-Range Effects on Locally Important Marine Resources of the Proposed Deepwater Port in Kotzebue"

Team Selawik Sheefish
Northwest Arctic District
Audrey Cleveland
Cynthia McCoy
Megan Jones
Georgina King
Sandra Sumrall-Lloyd, coach*
Robbie Everett and Brenda Dakai, assistant coaches

(quiz only; no project)

Team Apex Predators
SeeUOnline/Valley Pathways, Palmer
Drew Allison
Collin Dowling
Lucas Kovtynovich
Ginger Moreland
Joanne Pelletier
Heather Pelletier, coach

Project: "Planning for Population Growth in the Matanuska Susitna Borough and Managing Valuable Estuarine Wetlands"

Team Coccolithophores
Seward High School
Loranne Bardarson
Krista Boulden
Forrest McDonald
Isaiah Norton
Mike Davis, coach

Project: "Alaska Shellfish Farming"

Team Laridae
Skyview High School, Soldotna
Rachel Beatty
Matt Smith
Stevie Pyfer
Alison Simpson
Jaime Miller
Mark Larson, coach*****

Project: "The Future of the Kenai River Estuary—An Economic Model for Survival"

Team Maricultural Oyster Observers (MOO)
Soldotna High School
Kaitlin Vadla
Justin Johnson
Sierra Williams
Jon Buchholz

Jessica Weimer
Lowell Perry*
Bruce Rife, coach*

Project: "Oysters: Kachemak Bay's Developing Aquacultural Industry"

Soldotna High School #2
Chrystal Carlson
Sara Karella
Amy Breakfield
Scott Laurion
Peter Kim
Bruce Rife, coach*

Project: "Fish Traps as an Alternative to Drift Gillnetting in the Kasilof River"

[Note: Team did not attend competition in Seward.]

Please notify Susan Sugai at or (907) 474-6840 with any additions, changes or corrections.

Information for participants || NOSB home page
This page is HTML 4.01 validated. Last updated 07-Jan-2004. Contact: ASG web coordinator.
NOSB home page