Sponsors of the Fifth Annual Alaska Region National Ocean Sciences Bowl (2002)

chinook salmon
King Salmon Sponsors ($5,000+)
Alaska SeaLife Center
Craig Baker, coach (time)
Consortium for Oceanographic Research and Education (CORE)
Jason Fantz, coach (time)
Chris Hanson, coach (time)
Kenai Fjords National Park
Aaron Lang, coach (time)
Elizabeth Larman, coach (time)
Mark Larson
, coach (time)
Bruce Rife, coach (time)
Dr. Susan Sugai (time)
Andrew Sullivan, coach (time)
Sandra Sumrall-Lloyd, coach (time)
University of Alaska Fairbanks
UAF Alaska Sea Grant College Program
UAF School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences

sockeye salmon
Red Salmon Sponsors ($2,500-$4,999)
Marine Advisory Program

chum salmon
Chum Salmon Sponsors ($1,000-$2,499)
Alaska Coastal Management Program
Dolly Dieter

coho salmon
Silver Salmon Sponsors ($500-$999)
Faculty and Staff, School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
F/V Spectre (Wilkie family vessel)
The Glosten Associates, Inc.
Bill Lawrence (time)
Northern Perspectives (Hank Pennington)
Seward High School
Sandy Stolle, wood sculptor (time)
Susan Swiderski (time)

pink salmon
Pink Salmon Sponsors ($250-$499)
Dr. Vera Alexander
Kenai Fjord Tours
Icicle Seafoods/Seward Fisheries
Totem Ocean Trailer Express

Steelhead Trout Sponsors ($100-$249)
John Lowe and Tania Clucas
Robert Pfutzenreuter
Ranting Raven
Seward Terminal, Inc.
Vicki Seigel (time)
Mikki Waldren (time)

Salmon Smolt Sponsors (<$100)
Nici Murawsky
Pat Williams

Awards included the following:

  • 1st Place team overall—one-year tuition waiver from UAF each; free trip to Providence, Rhode Island, to compete in finals

  • 2nd Place team overall—$100 scholarship each

  • 3rd Place team overall—$75 scholarship each

  • 4th Place teams overall (2-way tie)—$50 scholarship each; 2nd- through 4th-place awards donated by F/V Spectre, Glosten Inc., and Seward Terminal Inc.

  • 1st Place project coach—$1,000 classroom award donated by Alaska Sea Grant

  • 2nd Place project coach—$500 classroom award

  • 3rd Place project coach—$400 classroom award

  • 4th Place project coach—$300 classroom award

  • 5th Place project coach—$200 classroom award

  • 6th Place project coach—$100 classroom award; 2nd-place through 6-place awards donated by Dolly Dieter

  • NOSB Art Show, Best of Show—$300 classroom award from Alaska Sea Grant; $50 award from Pat Williams

  • 1st Place art awards in each category (2-dimensional, 3-dimensional, and mixed media)—$25 scholarship

  • 2nd Place art awards in each category—$15 scholarship

  • 3rd Place art awards in each category—$10 scholarship; awards donated by Kenai Fjords Tours

  • Most inspirational team members—$50 scholarship each donated by Totem Ocean Trailer Express and Seward Fisheries/Icicle Seafoods

  • Most points in a single round—Mayor Bob Satin's Perpetual Trophy

NOSB archives || NOSB home page

NOSB home page