Colleagues who have demonstrated excellence are presented awards at the end of the meeting.

Excellence in Interdisciplinary Science

Given to an individual showing achievement in interdisciplinary science through contributions in research, teaching, and service in western Alaska.

Leadership for Sustainable Communities

Given to an individual or organization to recognize successful initiatives that promotes sustainable communities in western Alaska.

Educational Leadership

Given to an educator that has distinguished him or herself as a leader in a western Alaska educational institution through innovative programs and curriculum.

Distinguished Teaching Award

Given to a teacher in western Alaska who has made extraordinary contributions to the field of science teaching.

Distinguished Contributions in Science—WAISC Special Award

Given to an individual selected by the WAISA conference organizing committee who has shown significant contributions in promoting science in western Alaska.

WAISC Student Awards—Interdisciplinary Science Student Award

Award for the best paper on interdisciplinary science presented by a student at the WAISC.

Community Stewardship Award

Award to the best student paper that shows success and excellence in stewardship in a Western Alaska community.