Alaska Sea Grant Advisory Committee

A photo of 6 people holding gift baskets Our profound thanks to departing members of our advisory committee.

Alaska Sea Grant created a dedicated Advisory Committee in 2003, composed of individuals from an array of stakeholder groups representing all regions of the state. The Advisory Committee provides valuable guidance in identifying state priorities for research, education, and extension within the subset of National Sea Grant focus areas. The Advisory Committee participates in strategic planning efforts and plays an integral part in the review of research proposals.

A group photo of members of the advisory committee 2016 Advisory Committee meeting in Anchorage.

Committee chair

Jeff Stephan

Jeff Stephan, Manager
United Fishermen’s Marketing Association


James Balsiger

James Balsiger, Alaska Regional Administrator
NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service

Kaja Brix

Kaja Brix, Arctic Program Director
NOAA Fisheries Alaska Region
(Alternate for James Balsiger)

Peggy Cowan

Peggy Cowan, Retired Superintendent
North Slope Borough School District

Pete Esquiro

Pete Esquiro, retired
Northern Southeast Regional Aquaculture Association

Kelly Harrell

Kelly Harrell, Executive Director
Alaska Marine Conservation Council

Jeff Kauffman

Jeff Kauffman, Vice President
Central Bering Sea Fishermen’s Association

Lea Klingert

Lea Klingert, President
Commercial Fishing and Agriculture Bank

Jennifer Lincoln

Jennifer Lincoln, Director, Alaska Pacific Office
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Molly McCammon

Molly McCammon, Executive Director
Alaska Ocean Observing System

Vera Metcalf

Vera Metcalf, Director
Eskimo Walrus Commission at Kawerak, Inc.

Kris Norosz

Kris Norosz, Government Affairs Director
Icicle Seafoods

Amanda Painter

Amanda Painter, Operations Manager
Allen Marine Tours

Mary Pete

Mary Pete, Director
Kuskokwim Campus, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Dave Reggiani

Dave Reggiani, aquaculture expert
Prince William Sound Aquaculture Corporation

Alice Ruby

Alice Ruby, Mayor

Ralph Samuels

Ralph Samuels, Vice President of Government and Community Relations
Princess Cruises/Holland America

Fred Schlutt

Fred Schlutt, Jr., Vice Provost for Outreach & Engagement, and Director, Cooperative Extension Service
University of Alaska Fairbanks

Chris Siddon

Chris Siddon, Marine Fisheries Scientist
Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Greg Siekaniec

Greg Siekaniec, Regional Director for Alaska
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

David Witherell

David Witherell, Deputy Director
North Pacific Fishery Management Council

Past Advisory Committee members